New Delhi(web team): The MHA has removed the names of former prime ministers Indira Gandhi and Rajiv Gandhi from the annual Hindi Diwas awards, ET reports. This has created another political storm with the Congress accusing the BJP government of indulging in 'political vindictiveness'.

The 'Indira Gandhi Rajbhasha Puraskar' and the 'Rajiv Gandhi Rashtriya Gyan-Vigyan Maulik Pustak Lekhan Puraskar' are now renamed as 'Rajbhasha Kirti Puraskar' and 'Rajbhasha Gaurav Puraskar' respectively as per a March 25, 2015 MHA order. The order was sent to all states, ministries, PMO, President's Secretariat, Cabinet Secretariat and Lok Sabha & Rajya Sabha Secretariats. The change also finds a mention in an MHA booklet on its '300-day achievements'., the report adds.

Kiren Rijiju, MoS at MHA, has said in the report that the discarding of the former prime ministers' names from the awards was an administrative decision and not a political one. He said that the MHA had remodelled the awards scheme and fused four schemes to two for enhancing its status by making for relevant.

The Congress has demanded to know why the names of the former prime ministers were dropped and blamed the Modi government of being parochial and petty.

The Hindi Diwas awards will be presented by President Pranab Mukherjee on September 14.


Post a Comment